God Saves His Sheep!


I began this blog almost three years ago in an effort to share God’s work in my own life, alert the church to the various trends that had led to a dramatic shift in my lifelamb and my theology, and hopefully edify believers out there who may be struggling to find truth.  Since that time, I  have had another child, begun full time homeschooling my oldest, and taken on many other responsibilities in my home that have decreased my ability to devote as much time to writing as I would like.  I do, however, continue to post to Facebook and Twitter on various theological topics.  However, every now and again, some topics are worth more than just a Facebook post.  Today, just such a matter has occurred.

Several months ago the Lord brought a new young woman and her son into our midst in my reformed baptist church, Cornerstone Chapel.  Upon hearing just a small portion of her testimony, my heart was filled with excitement to hear about our great God and His marvelous and mysterious Providences in her life.  Since starting this blog and writing about my beliefs regarding the cessation of the office of the apostles and the miraculous gifts they had to establish their apostleship, I, along with my brethren of the same position, often take criticism as being ANTI Holy Spirit or afraid of the work of the Spirit.  This straw-man argument is often most ludicrous to me when I hear a testimony such as the one you are about to receive.  I am also told that it is wicked and evil to say that God is the One who saves and man only responds to that call of God  AFTER, through the power of the Holy Spirit, He regenerates that dead man into new life.  Yet, a testimony such as my sister’s below proves how ever clear it is that God saves His children not only in spite of them, but even to their own contrary search in opposition to Him.  So, without any other conversation from me, I share my dear sister’s testimony given at her baptism today.  May the God of all Creation, mercy, and long-suffering be glorified and my the church be edified upon hearing of another of the lost sheep that has come home to the flock.  SDG!!

Biblical Testimony

“The Secret”

Proverbs 8:13 says, “the fear of the Lord is hatred of evil”. 1 John says, “Whoever makes a practice of sinning is of the devil, for the devil has been sinning from the beginning” ( 3:8).  For the first 35 years of my life, sinning was all I knew. My parents divorced when I was young and my brother and I were raised outside of Houston, TX by our mother.  The stress of being a single parent and taking care of two kids became too much for her and she developed a mental illness requiring long term hospitalization lasting over a year.  During that time, God showed his love by sending my brother and I to a wonderful foster family that introduced us to church. Later, my mother was able to recover from her illness and we were returned to her care. Even though I was thankful, I was a rebellious teen full of anger and aggression and had no fear of the Lord. As written in Mark, (7:20-23) “What comes out of a person is what defiles him. For from within, out of the heart of man, come evil thoughts, sexual immorality, theft, murder, adultery, coveting, wickedness, deceit, sensuality, envy, slander, pride, and foolishness” Out of the 13, I was all but one, yet even still, God had blessed me with good health, an education, a career and financial security.  How did I show my appreciation? By acquiring idols, myself being primary, I also had many lusts and desires however establishing a relationship with God was not one of them.  I was not looking for God because I was too busy searching for enlightenment and happiness yet never being able to find it. I thought maybe I needed spirituality. I came across the movie called, “The Secret.” This movie introduced me to Luciferian new age practices including meditation and Law of Attraction.

The Laws of Attraction principles which include to visualize, believe and receive or better termed the I AM THAT I AM practice. This practice encouraged me to believe that I was a little “God” however, unknowingly, was becoming more like Satan. Initially this practice was great however I knew something wasn’t right and this was soon shattered by the truth. In less than 30 days I went from a false spiritual high to a fear that I had never felt before. In one night, I had learned the secret. The secret was I deserved hell and that I was going to hell. I was terrified, I cried out begging God that night to forgive me. I was scared to death, I realized that heaven and hell, it was all real. Everything that I’d ever been taught or heard when I was young was true. The next morning the panic was gone, something had happened. As a true loving father, God had wiped away my tears, and I had hope. Through God’s mercy and love, and the sacrifice of Jesus Christ my sins were forgiven and I was saved. I knew I was saved. My eyes had truly been opened. As Job said, “My ears had heard of you but now my eyes had seen you.”

I needed God’s word as much as I needed Food and water however I didn’t know where to turn. Being a Texan, I remembered a famous preacher and this led me to Joel Osteen’s audio book “Your Best Life Now.” To my surprise it was Laws of Attraction just with a godly twist. Discouraged, I searched on the internet the words “Osteen and fraud” and had many hits. I selected one 15min video that was titled “Joel Osteen Is A Demonic False Teacher.”  On this video were 3 unknown men to me at the time named Paul Washer, John Piper, and John MacArthur. The sheep will hear my voice and I immediately  knew it was the truth! I continued listening to Paul Washer for a month, researched his biography and saw the words “reformed and Calvinism.” Researching these words, God led me to the ARBCA website which led me to Cornerstone and for the first time in my adult life I wanted to go to church. It is only by the grace of God I am at this church today. God knew all my insecurities and brought me to Cornerstone, a place of acceptance and love to fellowship and to continue learning the true word of God from Pastor Randy as well as each of you. God has taken a heart filled with evil and replaced it with desiring God and serving his will. Through God’s grace, I’ve been freed from sin I was once enslaved too and am a better mother, sister, daughter, and friend.  Galatians 2:20  It is no longer I who lives, but Christ who lives in me.”   -SF

 

 

HearsHisVoice has a few guidelines for making comments: 1. Comments are welcome and moderation is turned off (for now) to allow free conversation, but any inappropriate comments will be removed. Inappropriate means language, vulgarities, etc. 2. All statements of Biblical assertions must be backed with Scripture (citing book, chapter, and verse) IN CONTEXT! Please no partial quoting of scripture without a references. This is for the sake of ALL our readers and makes it easier for people to understand the point being made. 3. Hearshisvoice reserves the right to delete any and all comments that do not hold to these guidelines and to block any commenters who refuse to adhere. Thanks for understanding these basic guidelines to help facilitate biblical grounds for discussion.

