Crying In The Chapel


I was glad when they said to me,
“Let us go to the house of the Lord!”
Our feet have been standing
within your gates, O Jerusalem!  Psalm 122:1-2

 

One thing have I asked of the LORD, that will I seek after: that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the LORD and to inquire in his temple.
Psalm 27:3-5

 

 

It has been a little over a year since the Lord did a work that led to my reformING to be more in line with His Word as well as our family having to move from our church home of eight years. The only home I really was connected to since my conversion in 2001 in an intimate way.  It was hard. It hurt and a lot of work has been done to prune my self centered heart, but it has been a blessing from my Father what He has done.  I heard a song by Elvis the other day for the first time and it just speaks so dearly to my heart as I think about the new church family the Lord is currently knitting our hearts to.  The simple little building we worship in is in such disrepair and I know that it is a bit of a burden to the leadership the concerns with the maintenence and repair to our building, but I wish they could see what I see when I worship.  Coming from multimillion dollar facility with a child care center, a gymnasium, offices nicer than most succesful businesmen possess, but no true fellowship. There is no unity on the truth. There is no true love for the sheep or the Word.  Only programs, numbers, and whiped up emotions that fall flat when faced with the real challenge of standing on the Word.

 

I guess what I am trying to say is I am so content in our little building with our humble environment.  When I see my son run and play after church with the other children in the back around the basketball goal, I am reminded of the simple days of child hood and friendship.  When I see the congregation bringing groceries to help support the man and his family that God has blessed us with to feed and tend to us as the flock of God, my heart melts.  But most of all when we join in one accord on Sunday in prayer, Bible reading, and the singing of hymns and when I hear the clear exegetical preaching of God’s Word that is blessed to my soul by the Spirit of God and I know I am amongst those with whom I have unity around the truth; I feel like the wealthiest woman alive.  Our little chapel is the richest place on earth for the people of God join in one accord to Worship and sup at the table of the One True God: Father, Son, and Spirit.

 

 

You saw me crying in the chapel.
The tears I shed were tears of joy
I know the meaning of contentment
Now I am happy with the Lord

Just a plain and simple chapel
Where humble people go to pray
I pray the Lord that I’ll grow stronger
As I live from day to day

I’ve searched and I’ve searched
But I couldn’t find
No way on earth
To gain peace of mind

Now I’m happy in the chapel
Where people are of one accord
Yes,We gather in the chapel
Just to sing and praise the Lord

Ev’ry sinner looks for something
That will put his heart at ease
There is only one true answer
He must get down on his knees

Meet your neighbor in the chapel
Join with him in tears of joy
You’ll know the meaning of contentment
Then you’ll be happy with the Lord

You’ll search and you’ll search
But you’ll never find
No way on earth
To gain peace of mind

Take your troubles to the chapel
Get down on your knees and pray
And Your burdens will be lighter
And you’ll surely find the way

HearsHisVoice has a few guidelines for making comments: 1. Comments are welcome and moderation is turned off (for now) to allow free conversation, but any inappropriate comments will be removed. Inappropriate means language, vulgarities, etc. 2. All statements of Biblical assertions must be backed with Scripture (citing book, chapter, and verse) IN CONTEXT! Please no partial quoting of scripture without a references. This is for the sake of ALL our readers and makes it easier for people to understand the point being made. 3. Hearshisvoice reserves the right to delete any and all comments that do not hold to these guidelines and to block any commenters who refuse to adhere. Thanks for understanding these basic guidelines to help facilitate biblical grounds for discussion.