A Liberating Approach To God’s Will by Kevin DeYoung


When the Lord was beginning to deliver me from my errors regarding how to “find God’s will for my life” there were several great teachers and references thst were helpful resources. Kevin DeYoung’s book, “Just Do Something: How to Make a Decision Without Dreams, Visions, Fleeces, Open Doors, Random Bible Verses, Casting Lots, Liver Shivers, Writing in the Sky, etc.” was one of those great resources.  I thought I’d share a couple of his YouTube videos that summarize the gist of his teaching on the topic, but I also highly reccomend the book to anyone struggling to come out of the errors of charismania be it at any level.

It would be a good exercise to ask your grandparents sometimes if they felt fulfilled in their careers. They’ll probably look at you as if you’re speaking a different language, because you are. Fulfillment was not their goal. Food was, and faithfulness too. Most older folks would probably say something like, “I never thought about fulfillment. I had a job. I ate. I lived. I raised my family. I went to church. I was thankful.” Kevin DeYoung

3 thoughts on “A Liberating Approach To God’s Will by Kevin DeYoung

  1. Thank you, this sounds like a book I’d like to read. I have come out of the charismatic, word faith, NAR, spiritual warfare etc. teachings and was in bondage for many years of my life to this type of thinking. A book I read that helped me with this subject was “Is That You Lord?” by Gary E. Gilley. I can’t tell you how freeing it was when I finally realized these teachings were not scriptural.

    I actually wrote a ‘rant’ entitled “What’s Peace Got To Do With It”. I just plain got so frustrated with people telling me they felt something was or was’t ok according to whether they had ‘peace’ about it. People are actually paralyzed when it comes to making a decision about purchasing a car, or whether to go to get groceries now or later (you gotta make sure it’s God’s timing), or whether God is ok with them eating a certain thing today….you’d better make sure you’ve got peace about it! I know some may think I’m exaggerating the situation, but seriously I’m not, it can actually be disabling. You become so afraid of displeasing God, if you make the wrong decision, it’s becomes agony to make a decision. Then in order to make yourself feel better you can convince yourself you actually feel peace about just about anything.

    I actually know of a situation where a ‘Christian’ man and woman began having an affair and convinced themselves it must be the will of God because it felt right, they were in love, and they had peace about it. Needless to say two families were destroyed in the process. I guess it never occurred to them to simply check what the Word of God might have to say about that.

    • Yes…that book too was liberating for me. And yes….
      I, too, was paralyzed until I read that book last summer. Thank you for your posts. They are always so encouraging to me. God bless you.

  2. I came out of the charismatic/pentecostal movement in 2003 (began reformING at that time) and this book would have been a great help at that time to recognize that God DOES speak to all His People and that equally, not through some private conversation but through His Written Word. I HIGHLY recommend Rev. DeYoung’s book(s).

HearsHisVoice has a few guidelines for making comments: 1. Comments are welcome and moderation is turned off (for now) to allow free conversation, but any inappropriate comments will be removed. Inappropriate means language, vulgarities, etc. 2. All statements of Biblical assertions must be backed with Scripture (citing book, chapter, and verse) IN CONTEXT! Please no partial quoting of scripture without a references. This is for the sake of ALL our readers and makes it easier for people to understand the point being made. 3. Hearshisvoice reserves the right to delete any and all comments that do not hold to these guidelines and to block any commenters who refuse to adhere. Thanks for understanding these basic guidelines to help facilitate biblical grounds for discussion.

