Sola Sisters: Can’t Hear God Speak? Repent Says Henry Blackaby


Sola Sister’s is hosting My Sheep Hear My Voice today, please head over to find out what you need to do if you don’t hear God’s voice speaking to you.

I received the following comment from a reader on my Note of Repentance.

“At the Passion 2012 conference, Beth Moore, John Piper, Louie Giglio and company taught/led an entire sports arena (45,000 college aged students) in this practice. My son’s friends in attendance of this conference told of a young girl standing outside the arena crying her eyes out because she had not heard the audible voice of God as they had instructed. Others tried to comfort her but were also distraught at not hearing a thing. This is what Louie Giglio announced during a session that had them upset:

“How many of you heard the voice of God speak specifically, clearly, directly, and personally, to you? Can you just put a hand up? I’d like you to share it. Can you put a hand up for a minute?

Just want you to look around; that’s people saying, “God Almighty (pause) the Maker of heaven (pause) the one Who’s sitting on the only throne (pause) that’s not under threat (long pause, audience cheers)—He spoke to me. He spoke to me.”

“God spoke to me.” (long pause) Don’t let the voice of the darkness, tell you that you are not (pause) worth (pause) that God would not speak to you. (pause) Don’t let him tell you, you don’t matter. (pause) God spoke to you.”

They felt they must not be “good enough Christians” for God to speak to them. Thank you for warning others of this heresy. These children are diligently opening themselves to a potentially demonic spirit to hear God’s audible voice. Please pray for them and for all the others who raised their hands”

The issue at hand with the current push to “hear God speak” outside of His already revealed, complete, and written Word is that it creates confusion, hurt, and sets up a system of pietism within the body of Christ. Please understand this is precisely why I am repenting from endorsing the teachings of Beth Moore and Henry Blackaby. As well-intentioned as they might be, they are leading people down a dangerous path of subjectivity and confusion.

Read the rest here: Sola Sisters

20 thoughts on “Sola Sisters: Can’t Hear God Speak? Repent Says Henry Blackaby

  1. Pingback: Damaging doctrine: “If you can’t hear God speak, it must be your fault” | Aspreeman's Archives

  2. Pingback: the shaming animosity of “my god can beat up your god” « JRFibonacci's blog: partnering with reality

  3. Thank you so much for alerting so many readers about this heresy that is being taught. I have 2 college-aged children, they are still and always will be my “children” and they are true believers. However, they are still learning everyday, as I am, about how to discern truth. As I searched everything I could about the Passion conferences hosted by Louie Giglio, it was very difficult to find much information about Mr. Giglio’s beliefs. There are many examples of Beth Moore and John Piper recently and false teachings on contemplative prayer. But I think it is very important to note/remember that the Passion conferences that this practice is being taught are hosted by Louie Giglio who participated in this teaching as shown in your article. Louie Giglio’s entire career in ministry has been in service to the YOUTH. He is very aware that the sheep he ministers to are in a cross roads and seeks to influence them at this critical time in their lives. Parents need to know (as I assume there were MANY who paid the $200 fee for their college-aged student to attend) that they are sending their child into a conference teaching heresy. Hopefully Louie Giglio has been confronted by this lack of discernment on his part also. He seems to always get a “pass” on most blogs and articles about this subject but he is THE reason that Beth Moore, John Piper and others even had access to many thousands (45,000 in attendance Jan 2012 and many, many thousands by live feed over the internet). This ministry is HUGE and has a profound impact on college ministries all over. I have not heard whether Louie Giglio has renounced this teaching…..the silence is deafening. Below is a link to an interview Louie Giglio gave on the 700 club. His testimony and purpose of his Passion ministry is confusing at best.
    http://www.cbn.com/media/player/index.aspx?s=/vod/SUT62_LouieGiglio_092409_WS

    • Thank you for your comment and this link. I did watch a bit of Giglio from the Passion (was a bit disappointed to hear him quoting from The Message “bible” but that is a topic for another day). Thanks so much again. And hats off to you for trying to be the discerning parent. There aren’t too many doing that these days.

      • Actually, there are many pastors who are using The Message in their sermons these days. This is a huge concern to me as it seems these very people were the ones to warn us of twisting scripture in the past. David Jeremiah read from The Message in his Christmas service (last December 2011). The Message is, as you know, not a true “bible” but so many read, study and carry it to church in place of a true bible translation now. Of course, warning them about this practice may not initially get a positive reaction. It may never get a positive reaction, but I must “plant” those seeds to warn others. You are providing such a valuable resource to people looking for truth. It is such a lonely place sometimes.

        • Thank you for the encouragement and he’s it’s lonely. Honestly, social media has been such a blessing to our generation as the scattered can find each other a bit better. Sadly, I’m not surprised to hear that about Jeremiah. So many who go the way of contemplative prayer also go the way of Eugene Peterson, the Shack, etc. that’s what so few seem to understand. If you haven’t seen it…on one of my Richard Foster posts there is a video of Thomas Keating who tells it flat out that the end result and purpose of contemplative prayer is to discover that we are actually god.

          Sent from my iPad

  4. Pingback: The Justice Conference: Another Ecumenical Emergent Event? | My Sheep Hear My Voice

  5. “so opposed to the idea of
    actually hearing His voice”

    If “MY sheep hear my voice” is ~literally~ “hear”, then it must also ~literally~ be “sheep” !

    THAT’s what happens with your hyper-literal reading of Scripture. We end-up with literal sheep instead of Christians !

    The DataRat
    Reformation Christian

  6. It is very curious that a site titled “My sheep hear my voice” with the url of hearhisvoice is so opposed to the idea of actually hearing His voice. You advocate the strictness of not letting the mind pass outside the Written Word. I doubt if this is what Jesus had in mind when He said, “My sheep hear my voice” (John 10:27). Surely One who is risen from the dead is alive, and able to speak. When He indwells the surrendered and cleansed soul, is He to be subject to the reasoning process of the human? Is He to be silenced?
    It seems to be an absurdity that the indwelling Christ has no voice.

    • First, I please ask that you take note of my request to make all assertions by quoting the entire Scripture in its context, as noted on the side of this blog and on the comment section before making comments.

      Examining John 10:27 in its context, we read,

      “24 The Jews gathered around him, saying, “How long will you keep us in suspense? If you are the Christ,tell us plainly.”

      25 Jesus answered, “I did tell you, but you do not believe. The miracles I do in my Father’s name speak for me, 26 but you do not believe because you are not my sheep. 27 My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. 28 I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one can snatch them out of my hand. 29 My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand. John 10:24-19 NIV 1984

      This is clearly the teaching that only those who are the sheep of God when hearing the gospel claims of Christ, will hear that inward effectual call and respond in faith and repentance. This call is mediated by the Word of Christ. The Word of Christ is now given to us in the closed Cannon of Scripture and only those who are His sheep will “hear” the call which is today mediated by the teaching and preaching of the Word.

      But not all the Israelites accepted the good news. For Isaiah says, “Lord, who has believed our message?”Consequently, faith comes from hearing the message, and the message is heard through the word of Christ. Romans 10:16-17

      I invite you to read the commentary on the other post, “A Note of Repentance…” as this has already been clearly explained.

      God speaks today through the Word. Cannon and case closed.

  7. Pingback: Damaging doctrine: “If you can’t hear God speak, it must be your fault” | Stand Up for the Truth

  8. This article was SO well and biblically put-together, Amy, well done!

    By God’s grace I never entered-into any of this kind of thing, I was a false convert most of my life anyway (until 5 yrs ago) who just partied my way through my “Christianity”. I just want to say I so appreciate the work you, Amy, Christine and many others are doing to illuminate the abhorrent teachings being infiltrated into the local church. Thank you!

  9. This kind of teaching is so damaging, especially to those who are just trying to figure out who God is. Unfortunately it spiritually injured someone I love very much, and we’ve spent many tearful days and nights together wading through his doubt and panic about whether God really loves him or is even really there.😦

  10. this is so similar to Word of Faith and Charismatic teachings that it brings back some very unwanted memories in my own life. I have found that when we refuse to receive the Scriptures and Sacraments as God’s gifts to the Church that we are like spoiled children unsatisfied with what our Heavenly Father has provided (the “more sure Word of prophecy” as Peter says) and therefore sin being gluttonous for a “word” outside of Scripture and covetous for things that are NOT ours to have because His Written Word is sufficient. The psuedo-evangelicals of today are certainly on dangerous ground for teaching this but more so are they guilty before God for damaging the True Children of God by laying blame at their feet for not hearing from this false god. May God keep His children from hearing from this false god that these pseudo-evangelicals proclaim for they are NOT servants of the Most High at all.

HearsHisVoice has a few guidelines for making comments: 1. Comments are welcome and moderation is turned off (for now) to allow free conversation, but any inappropriate comments will be removed. Inappropriate means language, vulgarities, etc. 2. All statements of Biblical assertions must be backed with Scripture (citing book, chapter, and verse) IN CONTEXT! Please no partial quoting of scripture without a references. This is for the sake of ALL our readers and makes it easier for people to understand the point being made. 3. Hearshisvoice reserves the right to delete any and all comments that do not hold to these guidelines and to block any commenters who refuse to adhere. Thanks for understanding these basic guidelines to help facilitate biblical grounds for discussion.

